LibGuides: Codes and Standards: A Guide for MSOE students, faculty, and staff

Codes and standards establish minimum acceptable levels of safety, quality, and reliability. Understanding the codes and standards at both the industry and government level will allow you to better understand the expectations of your chosen field. Beyond engineering, codes and standards can also help you to understand business, economics, labor, and politics. Online databases and official websites are ideal for tracking down the most up-to-date codes and standards, though some are available in print.

Standardization Case Studies
Case studies that demonstrate how codes and standards solved real-world problems across a variety of disciplines.
Learn How to Find Standards
A helpful resource from the National Institute of Standards and Technology on how and where to search for codes and standards.
What is the DIfference Between a Code, Standard, Regulation, and Specification in the Electrical Industry?
A blog post from the electrical company nVent.
Code and Standard Request Form

Specialized Databases

AISC Current Standards
Free downloadable PDFs of active standards published by the American Institute of Steel Construction.
American National Standards
ANSI indexes standards published by organizations and provides other helpful information.

ASCE Standards This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library provides access to standards and technical guidelines for civil engineering.

ASHRAE Standards and Guidelines
Read-only access to codes and standards published by the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers.

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass provides access to industry standards and technical publications. The library has full-text access to Volume 03.01 Metals – Mechanical Testing; Elevated and Low-Temperature Tests; Metallography.

IBC Code
The MSOE library provides access to the 2018 International Building Code, be advised there are limits to search and print options.
ICC i-Codes
Read-only access to International Codes including building, zoning, energy conservation, and property management codes published by the International Code Council.

IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
Standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

IHS Markit Standards Store
Allows easy searching of engineering specifications, standards, manuals, and technical publications. NOTE: For searching purposes only. Will not provide access to standards without payment.
ISO Standards
The International Standards Organization publishes standards for a wide variety of fields; from health care technology to shipbuilding.
NFPA Codes and Standards
The National Fire Protection Association database contains more than 300 highly developed codes and standards meant to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks.

Government Standards

ADA Standards for Accessible Design
Free access to the most current standards for accessible design according to the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency
Search codes and standards related to clean energy in all 50 states. Hosted by the North Carolina Clean Energy Technology Center at North Carolina State University.
Federal Register
The official daily publication for rules and notices of federal agencies and organizations, including executive orders and other presidential documents.
FAA Regulations
All current and historical regulations published by the Federal Aviation Administration.
Milwaukee City Charter and Ordinances
Rules and regulations that apply to the city of Milwaukee.
NHTSA Regulations
Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards issued by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
OSHA Law and Regulations
Find specific codes and standards for workplace safety in general industry, construction, maritime, and agricultural employment, including protections related to whistleblower protections and workplace injury recording.
Regulations.gov
Easy searching of codes and standards across federal agencies including the Department of Defense, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Department of Transportation, and the Department of Energy.
Wisconsin Law Library Ordinances and Municipal Codes
Search for regulations by municipality.
Wisconsin Statutues and Annotations
The most up-to-date resource for regulations in the state of Wisconsin.

Codes and Standards Books

Annual Book of ASTM Standards by American Society for Testing Materials
Call Number: TA401.A653 2016 05.03
Publication Date: 2016
ASHRAE Standard: Ventilation For Commercial Cooking Operations by American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers
Call Number: TH7687.A515 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Electric Safety: Practices and Standards by Mohamed El-Sharkawi
Call Number: TK152 .E474 2014
Publication Date: 2017
National Electrical Code by National Fire Protection Association
Call Number: TK3275 .N38 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Pocket Guide to the ADA: Americans With Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities by Evan Terry Associates, P.C.
Call Number: KF5709.3.H35 P63 2007
Publication Date: 2007
SFPE Handbook of Fire Protection Engineering by Morgan J. Hurley
Call Number: TH9145.S46 2016
Publication Date: 2016

Jump to:

Help me:

If you have suggestions for how to make this page better, please contact Elizabeth Jerow, Assistant Library Director (jerow@msoe.edu).