LibGuides: Biomedical Engineering Resources: Guide

Library Databases

If you are looking for journal articles, e-books, or other types of scholarly sources, you might consider doing a search in Summon. Or, browse individual databases, listed below, for more targeted searching.

If you're looking for a database that doesn't appear here, consider checking the A-Z Databases list to see all of the library's subscription databases.

Specialized Databases

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database provides resources covering a wide range of STEM topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to information on biology topics including biological chemistry, biophysics, microbiology, and microscopy.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central publishes peer-reviewed open access journals covering science, technology, and medicine.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore provides web-based, full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, IEEE e-books, IEEE conference proceedings, IET journals, IET conference proceedings, IEEE published standards, IEEE Spectrum Magazine, and Proceedings of the IEEE published since 1988, and select content published since 1913.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials.
MEDLINE Ultimate This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE Ultimate provides full-text access to over 2,900 journals. This database is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index, and provides access to biomedical and health journals in the following subject areas: Biomedicine, Pre-clinical sciences, Behavioral sciences, Bioengineering, Health policy development, and Life science.
Morgan and Claypool This link opens in a new window
This database features unique and original e-titles that cover a variety of topics in engineering, computer science, the life sciences and other technical areas. The library has full-text access to four collections; Biomedical Engineering II, Digital Circuits I, Digital Circuits II, and General Engineering, Technology and Mathematics I.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

General Databases

These databases contain a wide range of resources, including those relevant to biomedical engineering students.

Academic Search Ultimate
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, this database offers a combination of academic journals, periodicals, reports, books and videos that meet the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline. Subjects covered include biomedicine, chemistry, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, technology, and more.
Engineering Source
Designed for engineering professionals and researchers of all types, this collection provides information relevant to many engineering disciplines. Engineering Source provides indexing and full-text coverage for engineering journals, magazines, and trade publications. Engineering-focused monographs, books, conference papers, and proceedings are also included.
Knovel
This database contains full text electronic reference books, complete with interactive tables and graphs. MSOE has access to the mechanical engineering collection, the civil engineering collection, the general engineering collection, and the biology, biotechnology, and biochemistry collection.
McGraw-Hill AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to a collection of critical, regularly updated engineering reference information and eBooks.
ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together more than 30 complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, and Science and Technology. It also includes access to thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Biomedical Engineering Periodicals

The library carries a number of periodicals relevant to biomedical engineering students, including but not limited to:

Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering
Call Number: R856.A1A573
Biophonotics International
Call Number: R857.O6B54
Journal of Biomechanical Engineering
Call Number: R856.A1T72

Code and Standard Resources

Codes and Standards Available in the Reference Section

The library has some codes and standards in print in the reference section of the library. View a selection of available standards below or search the Library Catalog for other standards and codes available in print.

IEC Codes

The following IEC codes are available in the reference section of the library.

ISO Standards

ISO 14971, 2007: Medical devices — Application of risk management to medical devices
REF R856.6 .M4 2007

Codes and Standards Available Electronically

The library has electronic access to some codes and standards. See the listings below for more details on available codes and standards.

IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
Standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
NFPA Codes This link opens in a new window
The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) publishes codes and standards that address fire, life, and electrical safety. NFPA offers read-only access to their codes and standards. Codes and standards cannot be downloaded or printed.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) - Medical Devices
Information on regulations for medical device safety.

These resources allow you to identify standards. Standards are typically not available full-text from these resources.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
ANSI indexes ANSI, ISO, IEC and ASTM standards.
Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
The AAMI provides information on standards for the medical device industry.

ASTM Standards This link opens in a new window
Indexes all of the standards published by the American Society of Testing and Materials.

International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC)
The IEC produces standards and other publications for electrical, electronic, and related technologies.
International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
ISO has over 19,500 standards covering aspects of technology and business.

In support of MSOE educational and academic activities, the MSOE library will attempt to obtain copies of requested standards for current students and current employees of MSOE. Students and employees should be aware that a standard is typically a form of intellectual property that is protected by U.S. and international copyright laws. The MSOE library maintains records of all MSOE students and employees who obtain a copy of a standard from the library. In requesting a standard from the MSOE library, all MSOE students and employees agree to comply with all copyright and licensing requirements associated with the standard. Upon request, library personnel will apprise students and employees of any copyright, licensing, and other restrictions that may apply to specific standards.

To request a code or standard please submit a Request Form.

Biomedical Engineering Books

Biodesign: The Process of Innovating Medical Technologies by Paul G. Yock, et al
Call Number: R856 B458 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Design of Biomedical Devices and Systems, Third Edition by Paul H. King; Richard C. Fries; Arthur T. Johnson
Call Number: R856 .K56 2015
ISBN: 9781466569133
Publication Date: 2015
Introduction to Biomedical Engineering Technology by Laurence J. Street
Call Number: R856 .S77 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The Medical Device R&D Handbook by Theodore R. Kucklick
Call Number: R856.15 .M43 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Medical Instrumentation: Application and Design by John G. Webster and Amit J. Nimunkar
Call Number: R856 .M376 2020
Publication Date: 2020
Reliable Design of Medical Devices, Third Edition by Richard C. Fries
Call Number: R856.6 .F749 2013
ISBN: 9781439894910
Publication Date: 2013

Jump to:

Help me:

If you have suggestions for how to make this page better, please contact Elizabeth Jerow, Assistant Library Director (jerow@msoe.edu).