Database of the Month
We want you to be aware of all the great databases we have available through the library. Each month we will highlight a different database. Check back each month and make the most of the library's resources.
Do you want to learn more about our other great databases? Check out these database suggestions by academic major.
December Database of the Month
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, it is the best-known statistical reference publication in the country. You’ll find it behind nearly every reference desk in U.S. libraries as the authoritative go-to source. The Statistical Abstract has value as both an answer book (“How much corn is grown in Iowa?”) and a guide to statistical sources (“What organization has the most authoritative data on foreclosures?”).
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013 online edition includes:
- Line-item access to tables
- Monthly updates
- Table-specific capabilities for narrowing results by source, data date, subject, type of data breakdown
For more information and for help using this database view this LibGuide resource from ProQuest.
November Database of the Month
Only SciFinder® provides researchers with unlimited access to the world’s largest and most reliable collection of chemistry and related science information. SciFinder offers a one-stop shop experience with flexible search and discover options based on user input and workflow. You can search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references anytime, anywhere. Make better, more confident decisions knowing that you have access to the largest collection of substances, reactions, and patent and journal references produced, compiled, and updated daily by CAS scientists around the world. Save time with an array of powerful tools to search, filter, analyze and plan allowing you to quickly find the most relevant answers to your research questions.
Don’t worry about missing vital research - if it’s publically disclosed, high quality and from a reliable source, SciFinder has it! See why industry experts rely on SciFinder as their only source for high quality content combined with ease-of-use features that help complete their research project from start to finish.
What you can find on SciFinder:
- Substances – chemical structure, chemical names, CAS Registry Numbers, properties, commercial availability, and regulatory info
- Structure Editor – Build your own substances and reactions or edit those in the CAS registry, SMILES, and InChl to search by structure
- Reactions – reaction schemes, experimental procedure, conditions, yields, solvents, catalysts, links to substance suppliers
- Analyze by Reagents – filter your reactions results by reagents involved in the reaction
- References – the world’s most up to date chemistry info from journals, patents, dissertations and more, some with full-text options
- SciPlanner – an interactive workspace to organize multiple reactions, substances, and references to easily share
Get the information you need when you need it with SciFinder’s unrivaled collection of the world’s most up-to-date chemistry and related science information found in journals, patents, dissertations and more. SciFinder is the only source that brings you information from early discovery through clinical trials with the combined coverage of CAplusSM and MEDLINE®. And full-text is just a click away for many resources.
Due to licensing restrictions access to this database is only available to current MSOE students, faculty and staff. Individual user registration is also required. If you are interested please call 414-277-7180 or email the library to request user instructions for this database.