Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AE/CV 1001: Finding Articles

Bibliographic Databases

A traditional bibliographic database provides bibliographic citations for articles. The bibliographic citation includes the author, title of the article, title of the journal, volume, issue number, date, and pagination. Sometimes an abstract or summary of the article also appears. A full-text bibliographic database provides you with the bibliographic citation and the full-text of articles. In other words, with a full-text database, you can often (but not always) access an electronic copy of the article. 

Here are a few databases that cover many different subject areas: 

Print Journals

Search for journals available in print by using the Library's Catalog. Print journals are located on the first floor of the library.  Print journals may not be checked out. Print journals for CAECM include:

Article Citations

If you already have a citation for an article you can use these resources to see if we have access to it.

Advantages of Using Library Databases

Library databases are useful for locating articles and information on a subject. Advantages to using library database include:

  • Academic databases include peer-reviewed, scholarly information that is often not available through the free web.  
  • Articles in databases have subject terms.  This allows you to use keywords in your searches enabling you to find more relevant material.
  • Many databases are subject specific, which means that you'll save time by searching through articles that are more relevant to your major.
  • Chances are your future employer will want you to use professional databases.  Becoming familiar with databases now will help you build skills in database searching.