Skip to Main Content

Linking to library resources: Guide

Proxy server update: The library has recently made changes to the proxy server used to authenticate MSOE users to access subscription databases. If you have previously saved a URL to a library resource, that URL may no longer work. Read more about the change here, and contact the library if you have trouble accessing anything.

Linking to materials located in the library's subscription databases that use the library's proxy server

Most of the library's protected databases are remotely available to MSOE students and employees through the library's proxy server, EZproxy. EZproxy is set to work with MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system.

Use the permanent link and the library's proxy server prefix when linking to articles. Locate the permalink or the DOI (Digital Object Identifier). Then place the permalink or the DOI after the library proxy server prefix: https://msoe.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

Example:

  • Article permalink: https://search.proquest.com/docview/217937785?accountid=9445
  • Combined with proxy server prefix: https://msoe.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/217937785?accountid=9445

The following resources are set to use the library's proxy server:

  • ABI/Inform Collection
  • Academic Search Ultimate
  • ACM Digital Library
  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information
  • Alt Health Watch
  • Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
  • ASCE Digital Library
  • ASM Handbooks
  • ASME Digital Library
  • ASTM Compass
  • BuildingGreen
  • Business Market Research Collection
  • Business Source Ultimate
  • CINAHL
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • EBSCO eBook Databases
  • Education Research Complete
  • Engineering Source
  • Health Source
  • History Reference Center
  • Humanities International Complete
  • IBISWorld
  • IEEE Xplore
  • JSTOR
  • McGraw-Hill AccessEngineering
  • Morgan and Claypool
  • Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus
  • Professional Development Collection
  • ProQuest Academic Video Online
  • ProQuest Central
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
  • ProQuest Ebook Central
  • ProQuest One Academic
  • PsycArticles
  • SAE eBooks
  • SAE eJournals
  • Science Reference Center
  • ScienceDirect College Edition
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States

 

Subscription Database Exception

There is one database that is not set to use the library's proxy server. If you are linking to resources in O'Reilly for Higher Education, you can use the following link prefix instead of the standard proxy prefix: https://go.oreilly.com/milwaukee-school-of-engineering/

 

Linking to items located in open databases

If the article is available from an open access resource simply copy the direct URL to the article.

Please note that using the proxy server prefix for open source articles will result in an error. If you are unsure if the article or e-book is from an open source or from a subscription database please contact us.

Open Access Databases and Resources:

  • AIAA Aerospace Research Central
  • BioMed Central
  • Google Scholar
  • HERO: Health & Environmental Research Online
  • NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA)
  • NFPA Codes
  • PubMed
  • PubMed Central
  • Science.gov
  • TOXNET
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Resources
  • USA.gov

Linking to items in password-protected databases

There may be limitations linking to articles and materials from password protected databases. Please contact a librarian about linking to articles from password protected databases on Canvas.

Password Protected Databases and Resources:

  • SciFinder
  • Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design

Linking to AccessEngineering Resources in Canvas

Share the Proxy Link URL with your students. Select Proxy Link:

Then copy the URL

Jump to:

Help me:

If you have suggestions for how to make this page better, please contact Elizabeth Jerow, Assistant Library Director (jerow@msoe.edu).