Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Main Research Page: Linking to Library Resources

Linking to Library Resources

Use these instructions to ensure that your students will be able to access articles and ebooks on or off-campus.

Subscription Databases that use the Library Proxy Server

Most of the library's protected databases are remotely available to MSOE students and employees through the library's proxy server, EZproxy. EZproxy is set to work with MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system.

Use the permanent link and the library's proxy server prefix when linking to articles. Locate the permalink or the DOI (Digital Object Identifier). Then place the permalink or the DOI after the library proxy server prefix: https://ezproxy.msoe.edu/login?url=

Example:

  • Article permalink: https://search.proquest.com/docview/217937785?accountid=9445
  • Combined with proxy server prefix: https://ezproxy.msoe.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/217937785?accountid=9445

The following resources are set to use the library's proxy server:

  • ABI/Inform
  • Academic Search Ultimate
  • ACM Digital Library
  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information
  • Alt Health Watch
  • Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
  • ASCE Digital Library
  • ASM Handbooks
  • ASME Digital Library
  • BuildingGreen
  • Business Market Research Collection
  • Business Source Ultimate
  • CINAHL
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • EBSCO eBook Databases
  • Education Research Complete
  • Engineering Source
  • Health Source
  • History Reference Center
  • Humanities International Complete
  • IBISWorld
  • IEEE Xplore
  • JSTOR
  • Knovel
  • McGraw-Hill AccessEngineering
  • Morgan and Claypool
  • Nursing and Allied Health Collection
  • Nursing Resource Center
  • Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus
  • Professional Development Collection
  • ProQuest Academic Video Online
  • ProQuest Central
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
  • ProQuest Ebook Central
  • ProQuest One Academic
  • PsycArticles
  • SAE eBooks
  • SAE eJournals
  • Science Reference Center
  • ScienceDirect College Edition
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States

Subscription Database Exceptions

There are a few databases that are not set to use the library's proxy server. Please contact a librarian if you are interested in linking to content from these resources.

The following resources are not set to use the library's proxy server:

  • Books 24x7 on Skillport
  • O‚ÄôReilly for Higher Education

If the article is available from an open access resource simply copy the direct URL to the article.

Please note that using the proxy server prefix for open source articles will result in an error. If you are unsure if the article or e-book is from an open source or from a subscription database please contact us.

Open Access Databases and Resources:

  • AIAA Aerospace Research Central
  • BioMed Central
  • Google Scholar
  • HERO: Health & Environmental Research Online
  • NAL Catalog (AGRICOLA)
  • NFPA Codes
  • PubMed
  • PubMed Central
  • Science.gov
  • TOXNET
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Resources
  • USA.gov

There may be limitations linking to articles and materials from password protected databases. Please contact a librarian about linking to articles from password protected databases on Canvas.

Password Protected Databases and Resources:

  • SciFinder
  • Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design