LibGuides: Ori O'Malley: Instruction and Reference Librarian

Meet Ori

Hi I'm Ori! I'm the Instruction and Reference Librarian here at MSOE.

Here's what you need to know:

How to pronounce my name: OR-ee OH-Mal-ee

My pronouns: They/Them/Theirs

My honorific: Mx. (pronounced: "Mix")

I earned my MLIS degree in 2017 from UWM and have been working in libraries since 2014. I have experience with public, academic, and medical libraries from working circulation to leading departments and working with doctors and clinical nursing staff. My wheelhouse skills include: instruction, reference/ searching, and book recommendations! On top of being a librarian - I was a bookseller at Boswell Books for many years and helped run author events. I adored my time there and will always tell folks to go visit their local bookstore!

In my free time I love to read novels (shocking I know), knit, or take on anything creative. While I may look like a homebody (and part of me totally is) I love to travel and have been to over 7 different countries. I'm a passionate crafter and always looking to learn something new!

If you see me around the library - please feel free to say hello!

My Favorite Resources

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus provides access to more than 45 premier peer reviewed nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW). This collection includes access to the American Journal of Nursing, Advances in Nursing Science, Computers Informatics Nursing, and Nurse Practitioner, as well as high-demand nursing leadership journals, such as Nursing Administration Quarterly, Nursing Management, JONA, Nursing Economic$ and the Journal of Nursing Care Quality. All journals are available in full text, although historical coverage varies. The database also features indexing of the journals from 1946 to the present.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate provides access to full-text articles from over 4,600 nursing and allied health journals. This database also offers access to continuing education modules, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions, and research instruments.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, when available links to full text articles are provided. Provided by BadgerLink.
NoveList This link opens in a new window
This resource provides discussion guides, recommendations, and award lists for fiction books. Search for books using title, author, subject and/or reading level criteria. Provided by BadgerLink.