Skip to main content

About the Library: Borrowing from the Library

Borrowing from the Walter Schroeder Library

Current faculty, staff, and students may borrow materials from the Walter Schroeder Library with a valid MSOE ID. MSOE alumni may borrow materials with a Special Borrower's Card (please see the Alumni Services Page for more information).

Material Loan Periods Item Limits and Restrictions
General Circulating Collection Undergraduates – 3 weeks
Graduates – 40 days
Faculty and Staff – 80 days
Alumni – 3 weeks
Undergraduates – up to 20 Items
Graduates – up to 50 Items
Faculty and Staff – up to 50 Items
Alumni – up to 5 Items
There are some exceptions to these limits, please see a librarian for more details.
Reserve Materials 4 hours to 5 days 4-Hour Reserve Items must be used in-house.
Entertainment DVDs 1 week up to 5 DVDs
AV Items 1 week up to 5 AV items
Equipment 4 Hours Equipment check-outs are library use only, but if you need to check out an item for a class please speak with a librarian.
Magazines, Journals, Newspapers Library Use Only Faculty and Staff may check out periodicals for up to 3 days.
Reference Collection Library Use Only  
Microforms Library Use Only  
Library items may be returned to the Circulation Desk in the library during regular library hours. There is also a return box located to the right of the Library Building's Main Entrance where materials may be returned at any time.
General Collection materials can be renewed up to two times if they have not been requested by another person in the meantime. You can renew library materials over the phone by calling (414) 277-7180, or in person at the circulation desk. You may also renew items online on the library's research page or in the library's catalog. Select the My Account link and enter the barcode number on your MSOE ID.
Library items may be recalled at any time. If an item you have on loan is recalled, you will be notified and will be expected to return the item promptly.
  • The fine for items from the General Collection is $.25 a day. There is no fine for the first 3 days an item is overdue. Beginning on the 4th day, there will be a $1.00 fine plus $.25 each day thereafter.
  • The fine for Entertainment DVDs and Audiovisual Items is $1.00 per day, with no grace period.
  • The fine for Reserve books and equipment is $1.00 per day, with no grace period.

Overdue materials that are not returned are considered lost by you and you will be billed by Student Accounts for the cost of the item's replacement, a processing fee, and the overdue fine.

Borrowing from Other Libraries

At the Walter Schroeder Library, we make every effort to provide you with access to the information you need. If we do not own what you are looking for, the following services are set up to accommodate your needs.

Interlibrary Loan is a service that allows us to obtain materials that you need from other libraries. We have an online system called ClioWeb for managing ILL requests. Use ClioWeb to:

  • Place requests for books, articles and other library materials not available in our collections
  • Check the status of current ILL requests
  • View past ILL borrowing history
  • Keep track of due dates and request renewals for ILL materials

Log into ClioWeb to request ILL materials

Please remember to plan ahead as it may take time to obtain the material. Patrons will be notified when materials are available. Patrons can expect requested materials to arrive in approximately 5 to 7 business days. Some requests may take longer. We will contact you if there is a delay with a request, or if we are unable to obtain a requested item.

Please do not use ClioWeb for requesting codes and standards, instead please use the Standards Request Form.

For more information on Interlibrary Loan, please read the Interlibrary Loan Policy

InfoPass allows you obtain materials directly from other Milwaukee area libraries. In order to borrow materials from other local libraries, you must first request an InfoPass from a librarian. Reference staff will help determine a location and availability of needed material. The following rules apply:

  • The needed material cannot be in the MSOE collection.
  • Only three items may be obtained using InfoPass.
  • The INFOpass must be completed at MSOE PRIOR to going to the holding library.
  • The lending library may impose daily fines for overdue InfoPass material. Please abide by all loan parameters. MSOE has agreed to bill borrowers for non-returned InfoPass material.

MSOE has a cooperative lending program with the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) Libraries. With a valid MSOE ID, you are able to get a special borrower’s card from the Medical College that allows you to check out books from their general collection. In exchange for this privilege, we allow faculty, students and staff from the Medical College access to our collection.