Skip to main content

About the Library: Library Services

Research Services

Reference librarians can offer you assistance with research for your course papers and assignments. Stop at the front desk and ask to speak with a librarian or contact us to arrange an appointment for this service.

The Walter Schroeder Library welcomes MSOE alumni to continue to use our resources.

Borrowing Privileges

Alumni may use a special borrower's card to check out the following items from the library:

  • Up to five books from the General Collection for 21 days, with one renewal.
  • Up to five DVDs from the Entertainment DVD Collection for 7 days.

In order to obtain a special borrower's card, library personnel will need to verify your status as an alumnus of MSOE. Please allow time (up to 24 hours) for verification — you may call the front desk (414) 277-7180 in advance to start the verification process before your visit.

 

Library Databases

Alumni may use MSOE’s library databases if they are on the MSOE campus and are connected to the MSOE network. Databases that are password-protected are not available to alumni. Also, database trials are frequently restricted to current MSOE faculty, staff and students.

 

Reference Services

Reference librarians can offer you bibliographic assistance for your research. Please contact a librarian to arrange an appointment for this service.

Borrowing Privileges

Circulating Collection – 80 days
Periodicals – 3 days
Audio Visual Collection – 1 week
Entertainment DVDs – 1 week

Research Assistance

View our Faculty Development Resources Guide or contact us for assistance with research for your courses or projects.

Document Delivery

Document delivery services are available for faculty and staff. Email a list of citations to interlibraryloan@msoe.edu. Items in the library's collection will be placed on hold, delivered via campus mail or delivered electronically. Items not owned by the library will be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Library Resources for the Classroom

Course Reserves

The library provides reserve services for materials to support course instruction. Please see the Library Course Reserves Guide for more information.

Library Resources in Blackboard

Supplement course materials with library resources. Use the Linking to Library Resources in Blackboard instructions to ensure that your students will be able to access linked articles and e-books on or off-campus.

MSOE librarians work closely with graduate students and their advisers during the thesis and capstone report phase of their education. The following resources, documents and information will help you complete your final project.

Documentation and Style Guide Resources

Graduate Thesis and Capstone Report Format Checks

In compliance with Graduate Programs Council (GPC) Policy 09, the library is responsible for verifying that all MSOE Graduate Thesis and Capstone Report documents comply with MSOE’s format requirements.

Graduate Thesis and Capstone Report Completion

Loading