This is the "Home" page of the "Library FAQs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library FAQs  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.msoe.edu/libraryfaqs Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Library Questions

Find answers to some of our frequently asked questions.

If you have a question that isn't addressed below or are looking for further assistance please contact us. Send us an email or call us at (414) 277-7180.

What are the library's hours?

During the academic year the library's regular hours are:

Sunday 1:00 p.m.-12:00 a.m.
Monday-Thursday 7:30 a.m.-12:00 a.m.
Friday 7:30 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.

During holidays, breaks, and exams weeks hours may vary.

Where is the library located?

The library is located at 500 East Kilbourn in the southeast quadrant of MSOE’s campus, on the corner of Kilbourn and Jackson, across from Cathedral Square Park.

 

Off-Campus Access

How do I access databases from off-campus?

All of the library’s protected databases are remotely available to MSOE students and employees. To access the protected databases from off campus, simply click on the link to the database.

When you click the link to a database from off campus, you will be prompted to input your MSOE username and password. After you successfully input your MSOE username and password, you will be able to access the protected database.

Please note: In order to access the protected library databases from off campus, you must not be logged into MyMSOE, inside.msoe.edu, or the MSOE VPN. Instead, access the databases directly from one of the links on the databases page.

 

Library Materials

How do I find a book in the library?

Search by Keyword, Author, Title, etc. in the Library's Catalog.

How do I find an electronic book?

View our electronic book databases or limit your search to Coll: EBOOK in the Library's Catalog.

How long can I check out library materials?

General Collection

Undergraduate students- 3 weeks (with up to 2 renewals)

Graduate students- 40 days (with up to 2 renewals)

Entertainment DVDs

7 days (zero renewals)

I am returning this late, what are my overdue fines?

General Collection- On the 4th day an item is late there is $1.00 fine plus $.25/ day thereafter

DVDs, Audiovisual and Reserve Collection- $1.00/day (no grace period)

How do I renew a book?

You can renew your library items online, by calling the library, or by stopping in.

Can I check out a reference book, a newspaper, or a magazine?

Reference books and periodicals are for in library use only. Periodicals can be checked out to faculty for up to 3 days.

How do I find articles/use the library's databases?

Checkout our library guides for advice on searching in the databases or Contact a Librarian for individual instruction on using these resources.

Where do I find course reserves?

Library Course Reserves are available with a MSOE ID at the circulation desk.

Electronic Reserves are available through Blackboard.

Can I get books and articles not owned by the library?

Yes, we can get most books and articles through Interlibrary Loan or INFOPASS. See the Borrowing from other Libraries page for more information.

 

Printer/Copier/Scanner Questions

What printer do I use?

The library has Follow You Printing. Instructions for installing Follow You Printing.  

Where is my print job? The card reader says "no documents to release" but I know I sent it over.

Occasionally, (particularly during busy times) the server may take up to 15 minutes to send your print job. Try again in 10-15 minutes.

How do I scan to email?

Instructions for scanning to email can be found on the bulletin board next to the printer. You may also ask for assistance at the front desk.

How do I print in color?

In Print Properties, under the “My Tab” tab, scroll down and at the bottom right, under the Select Color dropdown, select autocolor.

How do I print on resume/nonstandard paper? 

In Print Properties, under the “Basic” tab, scroll down and at the bottom left, under the Paper Tray dropdown, select Bypass Tray.

How do I print on 11x17 paper?

In Print Properties, under the “My Tab” tab, scroll down and at the bottom right, under the Paper Size dropdown, select 11x17.  Load 11x17 paper (available in the black tray on the CVST machine) in the bypass tray and scan your ID.  

 

Collaboration and Study Room Questions

How do I reserve a collaboration or study room? 

All seven study rooms may be reserved. Requests may be made using LibCal Room Bookings. Rooms must be reserved at least 24 hours in advance.

What are the limits for room reservations?

There is a 2-hour time limit per student, 8-hour max per group.

Can I reserve the Schroeder Room?

Yes, the Schroeder Room may be reserved through the Ad Astra Room Scheduler. The Schroeder Room must be reserved at least 3 days in advance.

 

Other Questions

Where can I get change?

We cannot make change in the library. However, you can put cash on your Raider Account at the CSVT machine next to the printer and then use your Raider Card to purchase items from our vending machines.

Do you have a stapler, tape, glue sticks, chalk, etc.?

Basic supplies are available at the circulation desk or near the printer.

Where can I check out AV Equipment?

AV Equipment is available for checkout through the IT department.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip