Skip to Main Content

Alumni Resources: Guide

Information about the resources available to MSOE Alumni.

The Walter Schroeder Library welcomes MSOE alumni to continue to use our resources.

Borrowing Privileges

Alumni may use a special borrower's card to check out the following items from the library:

  • Up to five books from the General Collection for 31 days, with one renewal.
  • Up to five DVDs from the Entertainment DVD Collection for 7 days.

In order to obtain a special borrower's card, library personnel will need to verify your status as an alumnus of MSOE. Please allow time (up to 24 hours) for verification — you may call the front desk (414) 277-7180 or submit a registration form in advance to start the verification process before your visit.

 

Library Databases

Alumni may use MSOE’s library databases if they are on the MSOE campus and are connected to the MSOE network. However, they must first check in with a librarian to access databases, as the links provided to current students may not work without an active MSOE ID. A librarian can help them gain access to the databases' contents.

Databases that are password-protected are not available to alumni. Also, database trials are frequently restricted to current MSOE faculty, staff and students.

 

Reference Services

Reference librarians can offer you bibliographic assistance for your research. Please contact a librarian with information about your reference request.

 

Accessing The Library

Library users typically need an MSOE ID card to gain entry to the library. Alumni do not have current MSOE ID cards, so they will not be able to swipe to unlock the library's main door. However, alumni may call the library at (414) 277-7180 to gain entry during normal hours of operation.

Jump to:

Help me:

If you have suggestions for how to make this page better, please contact Elizabeth Jerow, Assistant Library Director (jerow@msoe.edu).