Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A code is a set of rules and specifications for the correct methods and materials used in a certain product, building or process. Codes can be approved by local, state or federal governments and can carry the force of law. The main purpose of codes is to protect the public by setting up the minimum acceptable level of safety for buildings, products and processes.
A technical standard is an established norm or requirement. It is usually a formal document that establishes uniform engineering or technical criteria, methods, processes and practices. Standards allow for interchangeability of parts, system interoperability, and they ensure quality, reliability and safety.
The library has electronic access to some codes and standards. See the listings below for more details on available codes and standards.
ASCE Standards This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library provides access to standards and technical guidelines for civil engineering.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass provides access to industry standards and technical publications. The library has full-text access to Volume 03.01 Metals – Mechanical Testing; Elevated and Low-Temperature Tests; Metallography.
IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
Standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
International Building Code (IBC) 2018 This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive code addressing the design and installation of building systems through requirements emphasizing performance, the IBC establishes minimum regulations for building systems using prescriptive and performance- related provisions. This 2018 code is available through the International Code Council (ICC) Online Library. Please note there are some limits to the search abilities and printing in this version of the code.
NFPA Codes This link opens in a new window
The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) publishes codes and standards that address fire, life, and electrical safety. NFPA offers read-only access to their codes and standards. Codes and standards cannot be downloaded or printed.
Some codes and standards are available in print in the reference section. See the listings below for more details on available codes and standards.
Some codes and standards are available in print in the reference section of the library. Check the library's catalog to see if we have a resource available in print.
SAE Publications This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to technical papers, standards and other materials published by SAE. The library owns some SAE standards. Please search the Library Catalog to locate in-house standards.
These resources allow you to identify standards. Standards are typically not available full-text from these resources.
ACI Collection of Concrete Codes, Specifications, and Practices
This collection indexes ACI documents about code requirements, specifications, tolerances, concrete proportions, construction methods, evaluations of test results, and many more topics on concrete technology.
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
ANSI indexes ANSI, ISO, IEC and ASTM standards.
Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
The AAMI provides information on standards for the medical device industry.
ASTM Standards This link opens in a new window
Indexes all of the standards published by the American Society of Testing and Materials.
In support of MSOE educational and academic activities, the MSOE library will attempt to obtain copies of requested standards for current students and current employees of MSOE. Students and employees should be aware that a standard is typically a form of intellectual property that is protected by U.S. and international copyright laws. The MSOE library maintains records of all MSOE students and employees who obtain a copy of a standard from the library. In requesting a standard from the MSOE library, all MSOE students and employees agree to comply with all copyright and licensing requirements associated with the standard. Upon request, library personnel will apprise students and employees of any copyright, licensing, and other restrictions that may apply to specific standards.
To request a code or standard please submit a Request Form.
Use of MSOE’s electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by MSOE’s library is for use in MSOE classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a college setting.