Skip to main content

Off-Campus Access Alert: You may encounter errors when accessing library databases from off-campus. If you encounter an error, please try disconnecting from the GlobalProtect VPN. You can also try clearing the browser's cache or try accessing the resource using another browser. For more information view the Off-Campus Access Guide.

About the Library: About the Library

The Walter Schroeder Library is committed to providing resources and services that meet the informational, instructional and educational needs of MSOE’s community. The library is a comfortable, accessible place for the MSOE community to gather and conduct research. We provide areas for quiet study and areas for groups to congregate. We are open late during the school year to accommodate night-owl studiers. Our library collections have strong coverage in business & management, engineering, mathematics, nursing, and physics & chemistry. The library also has an experienced staff of librarians to assist you with your information needs.

Contact the Library
Address: 500 East Kilbourn Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone: (414) 277 -7180

Email Us


Collection Management

Collection management is an ongoing process conducted in order to ensure our materials support the MSOE Community. Please see our Collection Management page for more information.

Donations

The library accepts donations of books, print periodicals, entertainment DVDs, and other materials that are valuable and useful to the MSOE community.

Resources for Research

Library Research Site
Go beyond Google by using this site to access electronic books, journal articles and more.

Summon Discovery Service
Summon allows you to search for library materials, including e-books and journal articles, in just one search.

Alphabetical List of Databases
Use this list to access databases and other electronic resources available through the library

Library Guides
Subject guides and useful resources lists compiled by your friendly librarians

Print and Electronic Books
The library has approximately 45,000 print books and nearly 400,000 electronic books, with strong coverage in engineering, mathematics, physics and chemistry, nursing, and business. Check the Library Catalog for more information. Electronic books can be accessed from the e-book Databases page.

Print and Electronic Journals and Newspapers
This collection includes access to scholarly articles, popular magazines, and news reporting. Much of this collection is available electronically with a few subscriptions available in print.

Entertainment DVD Collection
A popular DVD collection including current and classic movies, television series, special interest DVDs and more.

Entertainment Book Collection
This collection, located on the 1st floor, includes best sellers, popular fiction and memoirs, paperbacks, and more.

University Archives and Special Collections
The Archives includes records and historical items that relate to the history of MSOE. The Archives is available for use by appointment only. Special Collections includes books and other university publications that complement the archival collections and a selection of Senior Design Projects. These books and materials are available for use on the 1st floor of the library in room L107.

View the Style Guides, Citations, and References Guide for additional resources for writing.

The Institutional Review Board (IRB) is an administrative body established to protect the rights and well-being of human subjects recruited to participate in research activities. MSOE complies with requirements set forth in Title 45, Part 46 of the code of Federal Regulations (45 CFR 46), known as the “Common Rule,” as well as Wisconsin State laws and MSOE policies.

The purpose of the IRB is to ensure the adequacy of the research plan, to minimize risks, and to maximize the benefits for human subjects who participate in research. If the investigator is a student, the research must be performed under the supervision of an MSOE faculty or staff member who, by his or her signature, assumes responsibility for the conduct of the research with respect to the proper safeguards of the rights of human subjects.

All students, staff, and faculty at MSOE planning to conduct research involving human subjects must submit an IRB protocol application form for review by the IRB. They must obtain approval from the MSOE IRB before human subjects are recruited and research begins.

Information, guidelines, and instructions for the Institutional Review Board can be found on the IRB at MSOE Guide.

Visitor Information in Response to MSOE's Raider Return

Although the Milwaukee School of Engineering has resumed on-campus classes for the 2020-2021 academic year, and although the library is now open, the library has suspended its current Visitor Access Policy, and is instead implementing this MSOE Library Visitor Access—Raider Return Policy Update. Under the library’s reopening plan, significant health and safety measures were implemented, including a 56% reduction in seating. These changes, and the current COVID-19 pandemic, have resulted in the need for the MSOE library to change its access policy until further notice.

Please see the Library Visitor Access Policy - Raider Return Update for more information.