LibGuides: Library Guide for General Studies Courses: Finding Articles

Bibliographic Databases

A traditional bibliographic database will provide you with the bibliographic citations for articles. The bibliographic citation includes the author, title of the article, title of the journal, volume, issue number, date, and pagination. Sometimes an abstract or summary of the article also appears.

A bibliographic database with full-text content provides you with bibliographic citations and full-text access to articles covered under that database's subscription.

360 Link

Our databases are set to use 360 Link, a link resolver that provides additional resource discovery. If you find a bibliographic citation that does not include full-text access use 360 to check our other resources. If full-text access is available through another resource you will be directed to it. If it is not available through another resource you will have the option to request the article through interlibrary loan.

Print Journals

Search for journal titles in the Library's Catalog. Print journals are located on the first floor of the library.

Electronic Journals

eResources A-Z This link opens in a new window
A searchable list of all the electronic journals that are available through the library. This list is useful for finding articles within a certain publication. This list can be searched by title, subject, publisher name or by ISSN.

Advantages to Using Library Databases

Academic databases include peer-reviewed, scholarly information that is often not available through the free web.
Articles in databases have subject terms. This allows you to use keywords in your searches which enables you to find more relevant material.
Many databases are subject specific, which means that you'll save time by searching through articles that are more relevant to your major.
Chances are your future employer will want you to use scholarly databases such as IEEE Xplore, ScienceDirect and CINAHL. Becoming familiar with databases now will help you build skills in database searching.

General Library Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, this database offers a combination of academic journals, periodicals, reports, books and videos that meet the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline. Subjects covered include biomedicine, chemistry, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, technology and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together more than 30 complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, and Science and Technology. It also includes access to thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Science and Technology Databases

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database provides resources covering a wide range of STEM topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
Engineering Source This link opens in a new window
Designed for engineering professionals and researchers of all types, this collection provides information relevant to many engineering disciplines. Engineering Source provides indexing and full-text coverage for engineering journals, magazines and trade publications. Engineering-focused monographs, books, conference papers and proceedings are also included.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore provides web-based, full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, IEEE e-books, IEEE conference proceedings, IET journals, IET conference proceedings, IEEE published standards, IEEE Spectrum Magazine, and Proceedings of the IEEE published since 1988, and select content published since 1913.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, and humanities.

Use of MSOE’s electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by MSOE’s library is for use in MSOE classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a college setting.