LibGuides: Library Guide for General Studies Courses: Finding Books

Resources for Finding Print Books

Classic Library Catalog
Find books, journals, DVDs and other materials available through the library.

Library Organization

A majority of our resources are organized by the Library of Congress Classification System. Like the Dewey Decimal System, items are arranged by subject, however the format is slightly different. For more information on the Library of Congress Call Number System, take a look at these sites:

One of the wonderful things about subject-sorted materials is that if you find a resource that suits your purposes, you're likely to find other useful materials nearby. We recommend taking a moment to look at items near the item you were searching for.

Print Book Locations:

Circulating Book Collection, Call Numbers A - G – 1st floor, west side
Circulating Book Collection, Call Numbers H - Z – 1st floor, east side

Resource for Finding eBooks

EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary ebooks focused on academics.
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
This library contains full-text scholarly books. Each book may only be viewed by one person at a time.
IEEE eBooks This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to IEEE-Wiley eBooks and MIT Press eBooks.
O’Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly for Higher Education is an online training resource for technology and business that provides access to more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. The platform also includes case studies and interactive tutorials. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to business strategy.
Access to O’Reilly for Higher Education is available both on and off-campus through MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system. When you click on this link from on or off campus, you will be prompted to sign in with your MSOE username and password.

Note for Individual Accounts: All MSOE users were set up with new individual accounts in January 2022. Individual browsing histories and any playlists previously saved will no longer be available. Please see this page for more information and for possible account migration options.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) provides access to nearly 150,000 authoritative e-books from over 500 publishers. This database also offers easy-to-use tools for taking notes and keeping track of your sources.

Selected Research Books

The Elements of Academic Style by Eric Hayot
Call Number: PE1404 .H3943 2014
ISBN: 9780231537414
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Qualitative Research and the Modern Library by Valeda Dent Goodman
Call Number: Z669.7 .G66 2011eb
ISBN: 9781780632681
Publication Date: 2011-07-30