Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off-Campus Access Alert: You may encounter errors when accessing library databases from off-campus. If you encounter an error, please try disconnecting from the GlobalProtect VPN. You can also try clearing the browser's cache or try accessing the resource using another browser. For more information view the Off-Campus Access Guide.

About the Library: Off-Campus Access

Off-Campus Access

Here are basic instructions for remote access to library databases. For additional details, please see the Off-Campus Access Guide.

Access electronic library resources from off-campus using your MSOE username and password.

Most resources listed on the Library Research Site, LibGuides, and Summon are set up to work with the library proxy server via MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system. A few resources are set up to work directly with MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system.

To access a protected database or resource from off-campus simply click on the direct link to the resource. When you click on a direct link to a database from off campus, you will be prompted to sign in with your MSOE username and password. After you successfully input your MSOE username and password, you will be able to access the protected database.

Additional Details

The library's protected databases are remotely available to MSOE students and employees through the library's proxy server, EZproxy. EZproxy is set to work with MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system. When you click on a protected link using a non-MSOE Internet Service Provider, you will be prompted to log into the proxy server via MSOE's SSO. Once you have successfully logged in, you will be able to access protected library resources.

Some Things to Note

Web Browsers
Web browsers save information from websites in their cache. This stored information can cause access issues and errors in website content display and formatting.  Clearing your browsing history, cache, and cookies can help fix these issues. View the Off-Campus Access Guide to find instructions for completing this in some commonly used web browsers.

Google Chrome
You may encounter an error when accessing databases and database content with Google Chrome. If you encounter an error, please try accessing the resource using another browser.

GlobalProtect VPN
The library's proxy server may not work while using the GlobalProtect VPN. If you encounter an error, please try disconnecting from the GlobalProtect VPN.

Finding Additional Help

If you continue to have trouble accessing library resources from off-campus please contact us.

Email
Email us at library@msoe.edu. Please include details about any errors.

Phone
Call us at (414) 277-7180.

Virtual Reference on MS Teams
Scheduled virtual reference sessions are available. Request a session by filling out this form. A librarian will contact you to set up a meeting.