LibGuides: Education and STEM Leadership Resources: Library Resources

Recommended Databases and Resources

Summon Discovery Service
Summon is a discovery service used to search multiple library resources and databases in a single search.

Classic Library Catalog
Find books, electronic books, journals, theses, DVDs and more materials available through the library.

Citation Linker
Use Citation Linker to check for electronic access to articles, e-books, and other resources.

Google Scholar
Contains citations to papers, books, articles, patents, and other publications. A limited amount of full-text resources are available through Google Scholar.

MSOE Library on WorldCat
Use this database to find resources at our library while also searching the resources at libraries around the world.

Academic Search Ultimate
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, this database offers a combination of academic journals, periodicals, reports, books and videos that meet the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline. Subjects covered include biomedicine, chemistry, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, technology and more.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online provides video material with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels and more. This resource includes content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, and more than 14,000 titles exclusive to Alexander Street. Access to award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners are also available.
JSTOR
Access full text articles from journals in the fields of economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. The library has access to the JSTOR Archival Journal and Primary Source Collection.
O’Reilly for Higher Education
O’Reilly for Higher Education is an online training resource for technology and business that provides access to more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. The platform also includes case studies and interactive tutorials. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to business strategy.

Access to O’Reilly for Higher Education is available both on and off-campus through MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system. When you click on this link from on or off campus, you will be prompted to sign in with your MSOE username and password.

Note for Individual Accounts: All MSOE users were set up with new individual accounts in January 2022. Individual browsing histories and any playlists previously saved will no longer be available. Please see this page for more information and for possible account migration options.
ProQuest One Academic
ProQuest One Academic provides access to a collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, videos, and primary sources, all in one place. This resource includes four multi-disciplinary products: ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
ScienceDirect College Edition
Covers the areas of physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, and humanities.

ABI/INFORM Collection
This comprehensive database combines ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. It features access to full-text business and economics journals, dissertations, working papers and industry-focused reports.
Business Market Research Collection
This databases provides access to company, industry, and market research through Hoover's Company Profiles - information about 40,000 global public and nonpublic companies, OxResearch - articles covering regional economic and political developments from a network of faculty members at Oxford, and Snapshots- market research overviews on 40+ industries.
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text access to more 3,500 journals with subject coverage in the following areas: Accounting, Administration, Banking, Economics, Finance, Human resources, Management, and Marketing.
Statista
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates data onto a single, clean, and easy to use platform. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides research institutions and the academic community, as well as business and corporate customers, with direct access to quantitative data on demographics, media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Arts & Humanities Database
This database includes information on Art, Architecture, Design, Philosophy, Literature, and Cultural Studies.
Educational Administration Abstracts
Bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Provided by BadgerLink.
Education Database
This database provides access to over 900 educational publications. This database is included in ProQuest Central.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, when available links to full text articles are provided. Provided by BadgerLink.
Humanities International Complete
A resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provided by BadgerLink.
MasterFILE Complete
This database contains full text articles covering the fields of general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Provided by BadgerLink.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
This database is a comprehensive guide to testing instruments in the areas of education, psychology, business and leadership.

Licensing of this database restricts usage to four (4) simultaneous users.
Social Science Database
This database provides access to academic journals covering many social science disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, and psychology. This database is included in ProQuest Central.

Additional Databases and Resources

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database
This database provides access to advanced technology literature. Topics covered include communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, and telecommunications.
Engineering Source
Designed for engineering professionals and researchers of all types, this collection provides information relevant to many engineering disciplines. Engineering Source provides indexing and full-text coverage for engineering journals, magazines and trade publications. Engineering-focused monographs, books, conference papers and proceedings are also included.
IEEE Xplore
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore provides web-based, full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, IEEE e-books, IEEE conference proceedings, IET journals, IET conference proceedings, IEEE published standards, IEEE Spectrum Magazine, and Proceedings of the IEEE published since 1988, and select content published since 1913.
Reference Solutions

A directory of business and residential listings and physician and dentist listings.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Resources
Resources for locating U.S. patents and published patent applications.

News Resources

Newspaper Source Plus
This resource includes full-text articles from today's major newspapers. Provided by BadgerLink.
Regional Business News
Contains full text articles for more than 80 regional business publications. Provided by BadgerLink.
US Newsstream
US Newsstream provides access to recent U.S. news content from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.

International Databases

Turkey Database
This database provides access to academic journals published in Turkey, covering business, science, technology, engineering, and other subjects. This database is included in ProQuest Central.
UK & Ireland Database
This database provides access to information covering business, science, technology, engineering and other subjects from scholarly journals published in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. This database is included in ProQuest Central.

Call to Teacher Leadership by R. Stewart Mayers; Sally J. Zepeda; Brad Benson
Call Number: LB1775.2 .Z47 2013

ISBN: 9781317919469
How Learning Works by Susan A. Ambrose; Michael W. Bridges; Michele DiPietro; Marsha C. Lovett; Marie K. Norman
Call Number: LB1025.3 .H68 2010 Faculty Development Collection

ISBN: 9780470484104
Leading Research in Educational Administration by Wayne K. Hoy; Michael F. DiPaola; Patrick B. Forsyth
Call Number: LB2805 .L3455 2011eb

ISBN: 9781617354441
Learning, Creating, and Using Knowledge by Joseph D. Novak
Call Number: LB1060 .N677 2010 Faculty Development Collection

ISBN: 9780415991858