LibGuides: Engineering MSE Resources: Guide

Recommended Databases and Resources

Summon Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
Summon is a discovery service used to search multiple library resources and databases in a single search.

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library is a collection of ACM publications, including 50 ACM journals, magazines, peer-reviewed articles, ACM conference proceedings and ACM SIG newsletters.
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This database provides resources covering a wide range of STEM topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Search the transaction journals, e-books and conference proceedings published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). Full-text is available for the transaction journals (2000-) and the ASME eBook Collection.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the latest edition of the American Society for Materials (ASM) Handbook. Also included is access to the Engineered Materials Handbook and the ASM Metals Handbook.
Engineering Source This link opens in a new window
Designed for engineering professionals and researchers of all types, this collection provides information relevant to many engineering disciplines. Engineering Source provides indexing and full-text coverage for engineering journals, magazines and trade publications. Engineering-focused monographs, books, conference papers and proceedings are also included.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Xplore provides web-based, full-text access to IEEE journals, transactions, and magazines, IEEE e-books, IEEE conference proceedings, IET journals, IET conference proceedings, IEEE published standards, IEEE Spectrum Magazine, and Proceedings of the IEEE published since 1988, and select content published since 1913.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials.
McGraw-Hill AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
AccessEngineering is an engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to a collection of critical, regularly updated engineering reference information and eBooks.
Morgan and Claypool This link opens in a new window
This database features unique and original e-titles that cover a variety of topics in engineering, computer science, the life sciences and other technical areas. The library has full-text access to four collections; Biomedical Engineering II, Digital Circuits I, Digital Circuits II, and General Engineering, Technology and Mathematics I.
SAE EDGE Research Reports This link opens in a new window
SAE EDGE Research Reports provide examinations of significant topics facing the mobility industry today including Connected and Automated Vehicle Technologies, Electrification, and Advanced Manufacturing, including Additive Manufacturing. The library has access to the 2019-2022 reports.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
This resources provides access to content published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). The library has access to SAE eJournals, SAE eBooks, SAE EDGE Research Reports, and SAE Technical Papers Online.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, and humanities.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates data onto a single, clean, and easy to use platform. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides research institutions and the academic community, as well as business and corporate customers, with direct access to quantitative data on demographics, media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest.
Vibrationdata.com This link opens in a new window
Vibrationdata.com provides access to consulting and educational services in acoustics, shock response spectra, sine and random vibration, rainflow fatigue, signal processing, dynamic data acquisition and analysis, model testing, and finite element analysis. MSOE's subscription to Vibrationdata.com features access to more than 400 tutorials and associated software on the Vibrationdata Tutorial Page.
Vibrationdata.com is produced by Tom Irvine, a shock, vibration, acoustics, and structural dynamics engineer, currently at Dynamic Concepts Inc. in Huntsville, Alabama, and the NASA Engineering & Safety Center (NESC).

Use of MSOE’s electronic resources is subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Excessive downloading, printing, and/or electronic dissemination of resource content is prohibited. Restrictions on other uses may apply. Electronic information subsidized by MSOE’s library is for use in MSOE classes and research. Databases are restricted to academic use only. Fair use guidelines are specifically applicable to use of information in a college setting.

Control Systems Engineering by Norman S. Nise
Call Number: TJ213 .N497 2015
ISBN: 9781118170519
Engineering Design Process by Yousef Haik; Tamer M. Shahin
Call Number: TA174 .H226 2011
ISBN: 9780495668145
Engineering Communication by Hillary Hart
Call Number: TA158.5 .H37 2009
ISBN: 9780136044208

Selected Journals

International Journal of Fluid Power
This journal provides essential reading for engineers and academics interested in advances in modern fluid power technology. It reports research results, new developments and trends in the following subject areas: analysis, modelling and control, monitoring and fault diagnosis, artificial intelligence applications, component and systems design, and computer aided engineering for both static and dynamic analysis of fluid power systems.

Library Resources

Classic Library Catalog
Find books, journals, DVDs and other materials available through the library.
eResources A-Z
A searchable list of electronic journals available through the library.
Citation Linker
Use Citation Linker to check for electronic access to articles, e-books, and other resources.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to papers, books, articles, patents, and other publications. A limited amount of full-text resources are available through Google Scholar.

MSOE Library on WorldCat
Use this database to find resources at our library while also searching the resources at libraries around the world.