Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off-Campus Access Alert: You may encounter errors when accessing library databases from off-campus. If you encounter an error, please try disconnecting from the GlobalProtect VPN. You can also try clearing the browser's cache or try accessing the resource using another browser. For more information view the Off-Campus Access Guide.

Off-Campus Access: Off-Campus Access for Courses

Linking to Library Resources for Off-Campus Students

Library resources are available off-campus via the library's proxy server. Use these instructions to ensure that your students will be able to access linked articles and e-books on or off-campus.

Subscription Databases

Use the permanent link and the library's proxy server prefix when linking to articles or ebooks. Locate the permalink or the DOI (Digital Object Identifier). Then place the permalink or the DOI after the library proxy server prefix: https://ezproxy.msoe.edu/login?url=

Example:

  • Article permalink: https://search.proquest.com/docview/217937785?accountid=9445
  • Combined with proxy server prefix: https://ezproxy.msoe.edu/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/217937785?accountid=9445

These instructions will generally work when linking to content from the resources listed here:

  • ABI/Inform
  • Academic Search Ultimate
  • ACM Digital Library
  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information
  • Alt Health Watch
  • Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
  • ASCE Digital Library
  • ASM Handbooks
  • ASME Digital Library
  • ASME eBook Collection
  • BuildingGreen
  • Business Market Research Collection
  • Business Source Ultimate
  • CINAHL
  • Consumer Health Complete
  • EBSCO eBook Databases
  • Education Research Complete
  • Engineering Source
  • Health Source
  • History Reference Center
  • Humanities International Complete
  • IBISWorld
  • IEEE Xplore
  • JSTOR
  • Knovel
  • MasterFILE Premier
  • McGraw-Hill AccessEngineering
  • MEDLINE Complete
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
  • Morgan and Claypool
  • Nursing and Allied Health Collection
  • Nursing Resource Center
  • Opposing Viewpoints
  • Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus
  • Professional Development Collection
  • ProQuest Central
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
  • ProQuest Ebook Central
  • ProQuest Research Library
  • PsycArticles
  • SAE eBook
  • SAE eJournals 2018
  • Science Reference Center
  • ScienceDirect College Edition
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States

Open Access Databases and Resources

If the article is available from an open access resource simply copy the direct URL to the article.

Please note that using the proxy server prefix for open source articles will result in an error. If you are unsure if the article or e-book is from an open source or from a subscription database please contact us.

Open Access Databases and Resources:

  • AIAA Aerospace Research Central
  • BioMed Central
  • Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
  • Espacenet
  • Google Patents
  • Google Scholar
  • HERO: Health & Environmental Research Online
  • NAL Catalog (Agricola)
  • NFPA Codes
  • PatentScope
  • PubMed
  • PubMed Central
  • Science.gov
  • TOXNET
  • U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Patent Full-Text and Image Database
  • USA.gov

Password Protected Databases

There may be limitations linking to articles and materials from password protected databases. Please contact a librarian about linking to articles or placing other resources from password protected databases on Blackboard.

Password Protected Databases and Resources:

  • SciFinder
  • Time Saver Standards for Architectural Design

Need Additional Help? Please Contact Us.