Patent Searching

The most significant overhaul of the U.S. patent laws in decades occurred with the recent passage of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA). Understanding the law that dictates what a patent is and how a patent is obtained and enforced, and the recent changes through statute or case law litigation presents unique challenges. This third edition of Patent Fundamentals for Scientists and Engineers examines the new Act and provides an overview of the patent system for the independent inventor as well as for members of the scientific and business community--whether a scientist, engineer, supervisor, or manager. In addition to a new chapter dedicated to the America Invents Act, the third edition includes annotations of the recent law changes, updates in all chapters, new figures, and new case studies. The authors discuss patent filing outside of the United States and also dedicate a chapter specifically to the Canadian patent system. They describe the key topics that anyone involved in the patent process needs to know, including what makes an invention patentable, the art of patent searching, and the crucial role of record keeping. The text also includes an indispensable glossary of patent terminology, as well as an appendix with sample U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) forms. This book provides a valuable guide to assist inventors in dealing with the USPTO, as well as with patent professionals. The text describes the patent process from conception to application filing and is a must-have reference for scientists and businesspeople alike. Since the role of patent professionals is to obtain the maximum protection for inventors, both the inventor and businessperson would be well advised to understand and participate in all the steps involved. This book offers an excellent insight into the patent process.

Whether you're a patent examiner, patent attorney, commercial patent searcher, patent liaison, IP librarian, law professor, or competitive intelligence analyst, you'll find Patent Searching: Tools and Techniques to be just the guide you have been waiting for, with a range of approaches to patent searching that will be useful to you regardless of your technical expertise or role in the intellectual property community.

An excellent text for clients to read before meeting with attorneysso they'll understand the fundamentals of patent, copyright, tradesecret, trademark, mask work, and unfair competition laws. This is not a "do-it-yourself" manual but rather a readyreference tool for inventors or creators that will generate maximumefficiencies in obtaining, preserving and enforcing theirintellectual property rights. It explains why they need to securethe services of IPR attorneys. Coverage includes employment contracts, including the ability ofengineers to take confidential and secret knowledge to a new job,shop rights and information to help an entrepreneur establish anon-conflicting enterprise when leaving their prior employment. Sample forms of contracts, contract clauses, and points toconsider before signing employment agreements are included. Coverage of copyright, software protection, and the DigitalMillennium Copyright Act (DMCA) as well as the procedural variancesin international intellectual property laws and procedures.

This work provides a comprehensive treatment of all three major branches of intellectual property law, surveying basic principles and emerging issues. The book summarizes what is clear, identifies what is unsettled, and offers concise views on how some open issues might be sensibly resolved. This text also deals with a variety of related intellectual property topics, including state laws governing the misappropriation of intangibles, state protection for the right of publicity and for trade secrets, and both federal and state rules concerning false advertising and deceptive trade practices. The authors use numerous examples to guide you through various technical areas.