LibGuides: Starting A Business: Library Resources

Books

The business planning guide: creating a winning plan for success

Start your own business: the only start-up book you'll ever need

Awakening the entrepreneur within: how ordinary people can create extraordinary companies

Beating the odds: 10 smart steps to small-business success

Winning at new products: accelerating the process from idea to launch

The entrepreneurial engineer: personal, interpersonal, and organizational skills for engineers in a world of opportunity

Demand: Creating What People Love Before They Know They Want It

Delivering happiness: a path to profits, passion, and purpose

Third Shift Entrepreneur: Keep Your Day Job, Build Your Dream Job

Start Up Wise: Your step-by-step guide to the Seven Stages of Success

The Startup Checklist: 25 Steps to a Scalable, High-Growth Business

Business Databases

Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This databases provides access to company, industry, and market research through Hoover's Company Profiles - information about 40,000 global public and nonpublic companies, OxResearch - articles covering regional economic and political developments from a network of faculty members at Oxford, and Snapshots- market research overviews on 40+ industries.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate provides full-text access to more 3,500 journals with subject coverage in the following areas: Accounting, Administration, Banking, Economics, Finance, Human resources, Management, and Marketing.
O’Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly for Higher Education is an online training resource for technology and business that provides access to more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. The platform also includes case studies and interactive tutorials. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to business strategy.
Access to O’Reilly for Higher Education is available both on and off-campus through MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system. When you click on this link from on or off campus, you will be prompted to sign in with your MSOE username and password.

Note for Individual Accounts: All MSOE users were set up with new individual accounts in January 2022. Individual browsing histories and any playlists previously saved will no longer be available. Please see this page for more information and for possible account migration options.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal that integrates data onto a single, clean, and easy to use platform. Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides research institutions and the academic community, as well as business and corporate customers, with direct access to quantitative data on demographics, media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest.

Other Online Resources

U.S. Small Business Administration
10 Steps to Start Your Business
Minority Business Development Agency
Wisconsin Small Business Development Center