LibGuides: Undergraduate Research Guide: Codes and Standards

Specialized Databases

AISC Current Standards
Free downloadable PDFs of active standards published by the American Institute of Steel Construction.
American National Standards
ANSI indexes standards published by organizations and provides other helpful information.

ASCE Standards This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library provides access to standards and technical guidelines for civil engineering.

ASHRAE Standards and Guidelines
Read-only access to codes and standards published by the American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers.

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
ASTM Compass provides access to industry standards and technical publications. The library has full-text access to Volume 03.01 Metals – Mechanical Testing; Elevated and Low-Temperature Tests; Metallography.

IBC Code
The MSOE library provides access to the 2018 International Building Code, be advised there are limits to search and print options.
ICC i-Codes
Read-only access to International Codes including building, zoning, energy conservation, and property management codes published by the International Code Council.

IEEE Standards This link opens in a new window
Standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

IHS Markit Standards Store
Allows easy searching of engineering specifications, standards, manuals, and technical publications. NOTE: For searching purposes only. Will not provide access to standards without payment.
ISO Standards
The International Standards Organization publishes standards for a wide variety of fields; from health care technology to shipbuilding.
NFPA Codes and Standards
The National Fire Protection Association database contains more than 300 highly developed codes and standards meant to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks.