Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MSOE Archives: Guide

Welcome to the MSOE Archives

Mission Statement

The mission of the Archives of the Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE) is to maintain, preserve and make available the records, manuscripts and other items of historical significance that document MSOE’s past.  The collection includes records from administrative offices, academic departments, and student organizations; campus newspapers, photographs and artifacts.  The collection also includes the records of The Milwaukee County General Hospital Alumni Association (MCGHSN-AA), which now incorporates graduates of MSOE’s nursing program into its organization.   

Collection Development Policy

The Milwaukee School of Engineering Archives collects records, manuscripts, and other items of historical significance that relate to the Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE), the School of Engineering of Milwaukee (SOE), and the Milwaukee County General Hospital School of Nursing (MCGHSN).  The archives also collects materials that support and enhance current collections and items that relate to engineering education and engineering history in Milwaukee.  

The Archives mainly collects materials that relate to the following:

  • The Milwaukee School of Engineering
  • The School of Engineering
  • The Milwaukee County General Hospital School of Nursing
  • Engineering education
  • Engineering history in Wisconsin (e.g. records from the Wisconsin Society of Professional Engineers)

Other materials that may be added to the Archives include:

  • Supplemental items that add value to the collections (in the judgment of the archivist or library director)
  • Items that could be incorporated into coursework

For information on donating materials to the archive, please contact us or visit our Forms and Policies page.

Visit The Archives

Collections in the Archives of Milwaukee School of Engineering are available to all MSOE students, alumni, faculty, and staff.  The collections may also be used by members of the general public. Appointments are required and can be made by contacting archives@msoe.edu

Research Services

The Milwaukee School of Engineering provides research services for our archival collection.  Requests for this service can be made by emailing archives@msoe.edu.  Requests will be completed as time allows. Because of the nature of archives some requests will take longer.  Considerations will be made for the nature of the request.  Requests from MSOE affiliates will also take precedence.  After a request is made a member of our staff will contact you with an estimated time frame for when the request will be filled. This service is available free to MSOE students, alumni, faculty , and staff. Fees may be applied for research requested by the general public.

Contact Information

Donations to the Archives

The Archives of the Milwaukee School of Engineering appreciates and will consider accepting donations of archival and historical significant materials that relate to the history of the University. Please be aware that because of space and resource limitations, we cannot accept every donation. Refer to the document below for more information about archival donations.

If you have suggestions for how to make this page better, please contact Elizabeth Jerow, Instruction and Outreach Librarian (jerow@msoe.edu).