Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing

The search process can be boiled down to these basic steps.

1. Develop a clinical question. 
2. Write a PICO(T)
3. Break PICO(T) into search elements
4. Do a preliminary search with your basic elements
5. Gather keywords, controlled vocabulary terms, and other necessary information
6. Start to combine your search elements with Boolean operators and begin searching
7. Tweak and refine your terms, operators, and filters
8. Finalize your search and go through the results!
9. Once you have finalized your search you can then translate it to other databases - this step is only required for certain projects. Not all searches will need to be done in multiple databases!

Remember that the search process is iterative - meaning that you may have to build upon steps that you've already accomplished if you're search doesn't turn out "right". If you don't have enough terms you'll have to run a search and gather more evidence, then try the search again. Perhaps your Boolean operators need adjusting - fix those and then run the search again. Refine, Refine, Refine! 

A controlled vocabulary is a list of set definitions that a database uses to differentiate between multiple meanings of a singular term. This is best illustrated with an example:

A student  is assigned to do a research project on a healthcare topic and comes in to the library for assistance. They tell the librarian: "I'm doing my project on nursing" - the librarian responds "what kind of nursing? The profession or the act of breastfeeding an infant?" When a singular term has multiple meanings the databases create a controlled vocabulary list to help you use only the terms that are relevant to you in your search. 

Note that not all controlled vocabulary lists are the same - Different databases will not have the same terms matched with certain definitions and some databases may not have a controlled vocabulary list at all. 

Note that CINAHL does not have a controlled vocabulary list but does allow you to look up search headings. In the Advanced search field that is a search box below the main search line and you can select CINAHL headings. 

Any ProQuest Database (Nursing and Allied Health, Public Health, Healthcare Administration, Etc.) will have a thesaurus search field located in the Advanced search tab - 2nd tab from the left. 

Here are some tips for searching:

Remember searching is an art rather than a straightforward math problem. No search will be 100% exactly what you're looking for. You will need to refine your search until its "good enough" for your specific needs. 

Play around with how you combine the elements of a search - it may just lead you to a golden article! 

Use all the resources you have to find extra keywords or phrases you might not be aware of. Look for common usage terms, controlled vocabulary terms, and use a database's syntax as a way to reduce redundancy. 

If you get stuck - ask for help! The librarian is an information expert and can help suggest new ways to search. 

You can request a consult by clicking this link!

If you have suggestions for how to make this page better, please contact Elizabeth Jerow, Library Director (jerow@msoe.edu).