Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Main Research Page: Help and FAQs

Library Help and FAQs

When is the library open?
View the Library Calendar to see the library's hours.

Where is the library located?
The library is located at 500 East Kilbourn in the southeast quadrant of MSOE’s campus, on the corner of Kilbourn and Jackson, across from Cathedral Square Park.

How do I find a book in the library?
Search by Keyword, Author, Title, etc. in the Library Catalog. The Circulating Collection, the Paperback Collection, and the Entertainment/Popular Book Collection are located on the first floor. Books in the Reference Collection are located on the second floor.

How do I find electronic books?
View the e-Book Databases page or limit your search to Coll: EBOOK in the Library Catalog.

How do I find articles and other scholarly resources?
Use the Library Research Site, the A-Z Database List, or the Subject Guides to find resources for locating articles and databases.

We also recommend conducting research with Summon, a discovery service used to search multiple library resources and databases in a single search.

How long can I check out library materials?

  • General Collection
    Undergraduate Students – 3 weeks (with up to 2 renewals)
    Graduate Students – 40 days (with up to 2 renewals)
  • Audiovisual Collection– 7 days
  • Entertainment DVDs – 7 days
  • Reference materials and periodicals are not available for checkout

How do I find electronic books?
Search for ebooks in the electronic book databases.

How do I find articles and other scholarly resources?
Use the Library Research Site, the A-Z Database List, or the Subject Guides to find resources for locating articles and databases.

We also recommend conducting research with Summon, a discovery service used to search multiple library resources and databases in a single search.

What printer do I use?
The library has Follow You Printing. View the document, Follow You Printer Installation on the MSOE IT Support page for instructions.

How do I print in color?
Adjust the settings of your document to send the print job in color. Color printing is 30¢ per page. The printer with color printing capabilities is located on the second floor near the Schroeder Room.

How do I scan to email?
Instructions for scanning to email can be found near the printer. You may also ask for assistance at the front desk.

How do I reserve a collaboration or study room?
There are six rooms available for group study on the second floor. These rooms may be reserved. Requests may be made using LibCal Room Bookings. Rooms must be reserved at least 24 hours in advance.

What are the limits for room reservations?
There is a two-hour reservation limit per person per day, up to six hours per week.

Can I reserve the Schroeder Room?
The Schroeder Room may be reserved through the Room Scheduler. The Schroeder Room must be reserved at least 5 days in advance.

The library's protected databases are remotely available to MSOE students and employees through the library's proxy server, EZproxy. EZproxy is set to work with MSOE's Single Sign-On (SSO) system. When you click on a protected link using a non-MSOE Internet Service Provider, you will be prompted to log into the proxy server via MSOE's SSO. Once you have successfully logged in, you will be able to access protected library resources.

Some Things to Note

GlobalProtect VPN

You may encounter errors when accessing library databases if you are connected to the GlobalProtect VPN. Be sure to disconnect from the VPN before accessing library resources.

Web Browsers
Web browsers save information from websites in their cache. This stored information can cause access issues and errors in website content display and formatting.  Clearing your browsing history, cache, and cookies can help fix these issues.

Here are instructions for completing this in some commonly used web browsers:

Please note clearing your browsing data may remove saved passwords, autofill data, and other information saved on websites.

Google Chrome
You may encounter an error when accessing databases and database content with Google Chrome. If you encounter an error, please try accessing the resource using another browser, such as Firefox or Internet Explorer.

MyMSOE
The library's proxy server may not function properly while logged into MyMSOE. Be sure to log out of MyMSOE before accessing library resources.

Accessing Library Resources at the Workplace
One common access problem can occur when users try accessing library resources while using a workplace computer. Many workplaces maintain firewalls. A workplace firewall might allow you to log in to the proxy server via single sign-on, but the firewall typically will not allow you to retrieve data. In these cases, a connection will seem to “hang,” but in reality, the connection is being blocked. If this situation occurs when you try to access library resource, simply try again outside of the workplace